February 19, 2013

  • Another Kid Birthday Party

    It is one of those days where I am not feeling much inspiration.

    But…I have these pictures already uploaded so I figured I may as well do a little blog post about Kendall’s 8th birthday party, which was about 2 weeks ago.

    Does anyone else get stressed out by birthday parties?

    Even when I think back on them, usually I remembered feel flushed and frenzied. 

    It often seems as if it doesn’t work out for Jeremy to be around to help with the party, so that leaves me to chaperone and feed and deal with 8 – 10 kids. On my own.  (Thankfully, for this one, my friend Morgan agreed to come and watch the kids at the pool for a bit while I got the room where the party was to be held all ready.  If you’re reading this, Morgan, thanks SO much. You were a life saver!!)

    I grew up without much birthday celebration.  I don’t recall being sad about that, but I wanted at least a little something more for my kids.

    Truth be told, I actually really enjoy the “pre-party” portion of the planning.  I like deciding on a theme and ordering the supplies and scouring Pinterest for the ideas and making the cake.

    Its just the couple hours of the actual party that always seem kind of crazy.

    Granted, it has gotten a bit easier as my kids (and their friends) get older, but it still feels like a lot to manage.

    I think the reasons I keep repeating the craziness are these:

    1.  My kids LOVE their birthday parties and look forward to them so much!

    2.  I only have three kids.  So that means this only occurs three times a year. I can deal with that.


    So, without further ado –

    Pictures!!

    The whole crew.


    The cake.  The theme of his party was “Gold” because it was his golden birthday!


    A “rainbow” with a pot of gold at the end of it!  (This is when Derrick made his comment about “kids these days not eating fruit anymore.”)


    Gold drawstring goody bags for the kids.



    In the pool!


    Opening gifts!


    A blurry picture of my 8 year old blowing out the candles.

Comments (8)

  • It’s adorable, Audrey! Good job even though it’s kind of nuts at birthday parties. I think that’s just how it goes. Birthday party = nutso.

  • Looks great Audrey! We actually are not doing bday parties except for with family until our kids turn 10… We might be awful parents because of that, im not sure. I for one have never had a birthday party, so….. Im not sure how i feel about it all. I love doing big stuff for my kids, but i guess we are waiting til they are a bit older so its not so chaotic. Did you ask for all that? Sorry.
    I think your party and all you did looks GREAT!

  • You are an awesome, fun mom! I You do so well with coming up with themes and doing great stuff with food! No wonder your kids can’t wait until their parties! And the pool was such a fun idea too, especially with that SNOW I saw outside the window! But I’ll take the snow, please :) Your kids are just so adorable.

  • Great job!  I love the fruit rainbow very much.  Birthday parties are kind of random and usually low-key at our house, but they just ARE chaos and work.  Someday they’ll thank us. 

  • that is awesome that you do this for your kids!! i love how kids get so excited for birthdays and parties. :)

  • I love it!  I am with you – love the planning and prepping but the actual b-day crazyness can be a little much.  Plus, my b-day’s are always doubled…  twins share – Craig and Aleigh share – Zalen is my first one I get to do solo. 

    Your a great mom and they will always remember how special you made their birthdays. 

  • Ok. I give up. Why is there mustard on the birthday cake?

  • Love the fruit rainbow so much!  I love the pre-party part and I love the party part, but the last two hours right before the party get me every time.  I NEVER plan enough time to get food ready.  Everything looks so easy peasy in my mind and like it should take five minutes … and then I discover that something like assembling sixteen subs can take a loooooong time.  But I still love it.  Birthdays are for celebrating!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *