February 15, 2013

  • 5 Minute Friday {Beloved}

    I am linking up today with The Gypsy Mama’s 5 minute Friday.

    The word is “Beloved” and here are the rules that she has posted on her blog.

    1. Write for 5 minutes flat with no editing, tweaking or self critiquing.

    2. Link back here and invite others to join in {you can grab the button code in my blog’s footer}.

    3. Go and tell the person who linked up before you what their words meant to you. Every writer longs to feel heard.

     

    GO

    When I think of the word “beloved” my mind just continues to gravitate towards God.  We are His Beloved.  He created us to be the objects of His love and for us to return that love to Him.

    Growing up, I didn’t hear much about the love of God or His grace. Maybe it was just my filter or my personality, or maybe there really wasn’t much of that teaching TO hear, but either way, the reason is not the point.

    I grew up scared of God and feeling like He was always disappointed with me and frustrated with me. I struggle with feeling this way to this very day.

    I feel like I am on a life long mission to learn what it means to really understand that I AM God’s beloved.

    I have been listening to this youtube video by Graham Cooke and it is SO good for me to hear.  I so desperately want this truth of how God feels about me to totally sink into my heart and not just be a head knowledge.  I would totally encourage you to take the time to listen to this video. It is about 8 minutes long.

    Close your eyes.  Meditate on the words that he is saying. And the words that He is saying.  Let it soak in.

    I believe that understanding our role as the Beloved of God’s will revolutionize our lives, if we can just really “get” it.  It will change the way we view ourselves.  It will change the way we view our relationships with others. And most importantly, it will change our view of God.

    I had an experience about a month ago that almost feels too sacred to write about, but God really, really made His love real to me in a euphoric, uplifting, sacred, amazing way.  The feeling that I had when I had even just a glimpse of His radical love for me gave me a small taste of what I might be missing by not really grasping or understanding the way that He loves me.

    STOP

Comments (6)

  • I think finding the Fathers heart & who He really is, and then my identity are 2 of the foundational issues that have changed my life!!! (& I am still learning!!!) grace to you as you continue on the journey….

  • I like how you wrap the whole thing up and it all makes sense in just 5 minutes!
    Love what you wrote here, it was an encouragement and a reminder that God does love us…no matter what. It’s hard to grasp sometimes, even though I know it’s true.

    Happy Weekend to you.

  • i loved this Audrey.
    very much.
    thank you for sharing!

  • I’ve learned so much about being loved and all that it means. Grace and God’s fervent love for us is hard to imagine but easy to believe in!

  •  i am in love with “beloved.”  especially since i saw the video to jason grey’s song, “remind me who i am.”

    it changes everything. EVERYTHING.
    what i can receive. and what i really really have to offer to others…

    excellent post audrey. and now i’m off to listen to your link.

  • wow. the inheritance. so good. i feel goosebumpy. and like i just inhaled fresh air. you know, job 33:4 :)  and there was one picture that i had to go back and look at again when it was over. it was like someone captured ME in another person. thanks for writing this post and sharing that link.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *