February 14, 2013

  • {What We Wore}

    I had started a category on my blog called “What We Wore” but I haven’t been posting much to that category lately.

    When I was working on my blog the other day, I was reminded and inspired to post in that vein a little more often.

    The “we” in “What We Wore” is Nikki and I.  At least generally.

    My boys dress very boring.  Wind pants (or whatever the proper term is for those kind of pants) and a long sleeved t-shirt.  Every.single.day. I do not have any preppy boys in my family!

    So, yesterday Nikki and I took a couple of pictures in front of the library.

    She was really crabby but when I asked her if I could take her picture, after an initial grumpy “NO!” she brightened up and got all happy.  That girls loves clothes just like I do!


    See…she ever smiled for the picture


    These grey boots of her are so dang cute. I wish I had a pair for myself.

    This outfit she wouldn’t wear for most of the school year, and then all of a sudden it became a favorite for some unknown reason. Now, it is in her weekly rotation and I think it is adorable!

    Also, one of Nikki’s most recent drawings…

    This is a chalk drawing she did at school.  I ♥ it!

    This is a snowman, according to Nikki. With pink wings.

    I don’t ask questions, I just listen to the explanation and say encouraging words.

     

    And then there is my outfit from yesterday.

    You want to hear a confession?  I am also wearing this outfit today.  I didn’t wear it ALL day yesterday (Ok, I wore it from about 9 to 7, but is that really ALL day??)  and the same people won’t see me today. Plus, I felt really good in this, so I thought “Why not?” 

    Is that super weird or un-hygenic?

    I know it looks like I am leaning really weird on this picture, but I am pretty sure it is the angle from which the pint-size photographer took the picture.

    I bought this little tunic/dress at my friend Morgan’s store (The Scarlet Poppe) a week or so ago.

    I just paired it with some basics.  Black leggings.  Black boots. Black belt.  Black long sleeved shirt.

    And my grey socks. I like those!

                                                 *********************************

    I have noticed lately that my default facial expression is a wrinkled brow and a sort of straight lipped look. As if I am trying to figure out all of the questions and complexities of life right.at.this.moment.  Which is exactly what I AM trying to do.

    It is exhausting!


    I spent some time yesterday texting with a friend and talking to God about why I cannot seem to learn to rest and feel peace. Why I have so much trouble shutting my mind off?

    I don’t have a lot of answers, but I did feel like God gave me some guidance.  And a measure of peace.

    You see, what “we wore” can be more than our clothing, for sure.  It can be the expression on our face, which probably makes more of an impact than our clothing anyway.  So I want to be aware of my expression and what it is portraying!

Comments (4)

  • Your outfits are both cute. and of course! you can wear the same thing two days in a row. ;)

    Happy Valentines Day.

  • Your default expression is adorable, but it’ll create a massive wrinkling in your whole brow area. I know that for a fact! Fortunately, my massive wrinkles are hidden by my bangs. My newest one is above the bridge of my nose, between my eyes but up a little. It gets worse after I’ve had one too many mochas. Why, I don’t know. I bet it’s God, telling me to stop drinking so much chocolate with espresso! I agree, you can wear an outfit 2 days in a row when different people will be seeing you in it! 

  • nikki is such a mini version of you. and as adorable as you are beautiful~ i liked how you took that short sleeve tunic and winterized it up with the boots and long sleeved shirt. i have some things like that in my closet i usually wear in the summer and i’m thinking now of pulling them out.

    also, i’m horrible for wearing outfits two days in a row. i’m just lazy and don’t like figuring something else out.. ;)

    hope you had a great valentines!

  • i love clothes too… so you and nikki are girls after my own heart. so fun when you share about what you two are wearing! i’ve worn the same outfit twice— who wouldn’t?! ;) same reasons as yours, different people seeing me, so it’s totally making sense.

    you both look beautiful!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *