January 17, 2013

  • Mama, Mama, Morning Drama…

    (You have to read the title like you would the title of that kid’s book:  Llama, Llama, Holiday Drama.)

    Those simple pleasures in life…like finding a quarter in the washing machine or making an awesome salad for lunch or getting to sit down and read for a long awaited 30 minutes…they make our world’s go ’round.

    It is the little things that make up the days and keep us feeling excited about life!

    But sometimes…our expectations come crashing down around us.  And one of our little moments in stolen away from us.  Just.like.that.

    One of my best friends recently “accused” me of being dramatic.  This was a very hard pill for me to swallow, and, as a matter of fact, that particular pill may still be stuck in my throat.

    Me?  Dramatic?  Intense. Maybe.  Strong-willed. Sure.  Opionated.  I guess so.  But dramatic?  I’m not exactly liking the connotations that brings up in my mind.

    So, let me share this little story with you and I guess I will leave it up to you to decide whether I am dramatic or not. 

    I need to back-track a few days to Monday afternoon.  I decided to bake something different than my normal “brownies-from-a-box-with-boughten-frosting-and-sprinkles-on-top” for our Bible study gathering on Tuesday night.

    I had a carefully formulated and well thought out plan.  You see, there are these brownies/bars that I make that are my absolute favorite!!  They have a really long title, something like “Delicious Chewy Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Bars.”

    And since I have discovered them about a year ago, I have made them many, many times and I think I can pretty much recite the recipe from heart.

    1 cup of butter

    1 cup of brown sugar

    1 cup of white sugar

    1 T. vanilla

    (Mix all of these together)

    Add 1  1/4 cup peanut butter

    Mix in 2 eggs.

    Add:

    2 cups of flour

    2 cups of oatmeal

    1 tsp baking soda

    Then put in 1 bag of semi sweet chocolate chips.

    Pour batter into a greased 9 X 13 pan and

    Bake for about 25 minutes at 350 or until the edges are slightly golden brown.

    (Yes, I just wrote that all down from memory, but now I will double check in case I made any mistakes. Nope. I got it right!)

    These are the BEST bars.  They are chewy and kind of “heavy” but oh.so.yummy!  And they go PERFECTLY with my morning coffee.

    My carefully formulated and well thought out plan was this:  I could make the bars for Bible study.  They probably wouldn’t all get eaten.  I would have left-overs, but not have the whole pan there for me to eat too much of, you know. 

    It worked out great! I took them to Bible study Tuesday night. About 3/4 of them got eaten. I brought the rest home.  I had one with my coffee yesterday morning. 

    There were 2 left in the pan, I noted.  Yay! 

    I got up this morning, got dressed and padded out to the kitchen to get my morning coffee going and to check up on the bars.

    There was the pan. Right where I had left it.

    But when I took a closer look to confirm that, yes, there was still at least one bar left (in case Jeremy had eaten one this morning), I literally gasped out loud.  BOTH bars were gone. The pan was empty except for a few measly crumbs scattered about!

    What???!!  How could this be?  I was SO looking forward to a “Delicious Chewy Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Bar” with my morning coffee!

    I went through the first four stages of grief in about 30 seconds.

    First, denial.  This can’t be! Check the pan again. Yes. It is still empty. 

    Secondly, anger.  How could Jeremy do this to me?  Doesn’t he know how much I love those bars?  And to take TWO of them!!  I texted him in regards to my disappointment and sadness.

    Third, bargaining.  Could I possibly make a pan of bars, bake them immediately, and still have one ready in time for my morning coffee?  Probably not gonna happen with the time I have available.

    Fourthly, depression.   How did my morning just get ruined like this?  Will my day even be worthwhile?  Should I just crawl back into bed?  Is life really worth living with no brownie with my coffee?

    And finally…acceptance.  Actually, it is 10:30 AM and I am still working on that one. 

    You see, sometimes those you love can inflict the greatest pain.  Whoever said that must have had their husband take the last brownie too!

     

    **added drama for effect.  But seriously. I was upset!

Comments (14)

  • I HAVE to make these bars now. I’m not sure I’ll be able to make it through the next few days without doing so.

    SHoot. I think your new found penchant for drama is rubbing off on me.

  • Good Morning, Audrey.

    It would be very dramatic for me as a husband to eat my wife’s taste treats and leave her none—as she says to me sometimes,  ‘BIG TROUBLE!’

    frank

  • yes, i feel that way about naps sometimes. or sleeping at night. I often ‘plan’ things, like baby is gonna sleep then, and i can do this or that, or sleep too. And then he up and has the audacity to switch it up on me, the nerve.  

  • I love how you laid that one out, such true emotions.

    The bar thing attached with the coffee, I SOOO get that. In a few weeks I am hoping a (note I say A because I could do 3-4) cookie or bar can be on my food group list again.

    You dramatic? Yeah, I don’t see that one.  :) ) We all react to things differently and some people call drama at different degree’s because of their own character…..

  • nah. that’s not what i would call dramatic. are you asking that question? i’m not sure.
    but anyhow. i found this rather hysterical to be honest. especially the four step process of grief! oh my word! i had to read it twice actually it was so humorous to me!
    happy thursday.

  • Yep, totally get it. I live among a hubby and three teenagers who inhale the goodies I make. Nothing more frustrating than waking up thinking I’m going to get a slice of heaven and realize they’ve already annihilated it! 

  • ha! you are funny AND dramatic! :) they must be really good. i’ll have to try them.

  • you are so funny!! and i love all the added drama! yes, i have been there too – hopes completely DASHED because of something I was sooo looking forward to.

    So you’re told you’re dramatic? Hmmmm…. :)
    xoxo

  • this is funny  but i totally get it. i have had a reaction once or twice when my expectations were cruelly shattered like that! 

  • Ok you sold me on this recipe. Coming back a day later because I am making them now, with my very grouchy son who is not allowed to watch a movie because of too many tantrums lately. Evidently its the worst day of his young life.

  • Lol, I love it!  Been there done that!  :)

  • Oh! How awful! What a sublimely wicked trick to play on someone first thing in the morning, especially knowing she needs a good sugar buzz to start the day. I would be horrified to march into the kitchen and find the dreaded Empty Baking Dish ! Now, make some more, and hide yours in a plastic container in your lingerie drawer, and only leave out those you want to share. No one will know for sure who  ate how many! And those look droolingly delicious.

  • Seriously, this is the funniest thing (does seriously and funniest in the same sentence make sense?) that I’ve read all week. I just burst out laughing (ok ok, inside, but I actually did make a little noise and I’m still literally smiling) when i read the sentence: “I went through the first four stages of grief in about 30 seconds.” Still kills me. And I so get this and the frustration. I’d probably make another pan… and justify not working and just reading or surfing til they’re ready so the time goes faster. Thanks for posting the recipe. It takes all very common ingredients, which is dangerous for me. Like there’s no cream cheese or sweetened condensed milk or things like that that I don’t near always have on hand.

  • haha! i so get it!!
    there’s nothing worse than looking forward to some kind of food and then, it’s GONE!
    and when they leave the pan out too.. like allowing your mouth opportunity to start watering as you walk towards it – that’s even worse!!!

    oh, i think your drama was totally called for on this one. ;)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *