August 24, 2012

  • {Color} Orange

    Orange just reminds me of that little knock-knock joke that my boys were really into telling for a while.

    Knock-knock.

    Who’s there?

    Banana.

    Banana who?

    Banana.

    Banana who??

    Banana.

    Banana who??? (now growing a bit exasperated)

    Orange.  Orange you glad I didn’t say “Banana”. 

    Ha, ha, ha.  It got old really fast. Believe me.

     

    Orange is such a bright and cheerful color.  I didn’t think I had a lot of orange in my life, but when I started to actually watch for it, I saw quite a bit of it.

    One of the first things in my morning…I journal (not every day, but about 1/2 of the time) in this little orange notebook that I picked up on sale at Wal-mart a while ago.


    My daughter woke up and came to snuggle with me on my chair.  She is still wearing her orange wristband from our camping weekend. I have offered various times to cut it off, but she wants to keep it on.  (Plus, her little “Princess” tattoo is staying on pretty well, too!)


    So, ever since I have seen this picture on Pinterest months ago, I have kind of wanted to arrange my books by color.  But it would take some time and secondly, I wasn’t totally sure if color is how I want my books arranged. Wouldn’t arrangement by subject make more sense??  Yet, this picture really appeals to me.


    For orange day I thought I would at least gather all of my orange books together and take a picture for you.  First, my upstairs bookshelf.


    (Is that eye not a bit creepy??)


    And then downstairs

    I didn’t even attempt to go through the kids’ books.


    I had told Nikki that orange was the color for the day, so she came to me, all excited that she had found this bottle of “Off” with orange on the label.  I took a picture.  The angle of this picture makes her look hilarious.  We laughed about that together when we looked at the picture on my phone.


    Pretty wrapping paper with orange flowers. Nikki has an upcoming birthday party to attend, so we wrapped the present for her little friend in this cheery wrapping paper.


    Speaking of gifts…this is part of a gift I got for a friend of mine who has an upcoming birthday.  Plus, this is like, the BEST candy ever!!  Seriously. Don’t even argue.


    A brown and orange hand-made potholder that I picked up at a garage sale a while ago.  It kind of makes me happy.  We had some yummy Taco Soup for supper (so easy, healthy, cheap and yummy!!), along with rolls.


    This was one of the toppings for the Taco Soup. Along with sour cream.  Why does “Taco Soup” need to be capitalized?  I don’t know. It just does.


    The dishes (two of them happened to be orange) that were left in the sink overnight. (Picture taken Wed. morning)  On Tuesday, not long before I hurried out the door to a meeting, a picnic for one of my clients and then our Bible study/community group, I realized that I had forgotten to make a snack for community group.  I quickly mixed up some brownines in my (favorite) orange bowl, baked them, and then, since they weren’t cooled enough to put the frosting on, I grabbed my can of frosting and some sprinkles and just took the whole thing with me.  I had to wait to frost them till I got to community group.  Wow! Did I feel put together or what?  NOT.  Especially since I was home all day up to this point and could have made brownies at any point and they would have had plenty of time to cool.  Duh!



    Tonight I played softball.  Two games, in fact.  We are in the championships/tournament stage right now, so our team played at 6 o’clock, won that game, and then played again at about 9:45.  We lost our second game, but it was close.  The “orange” team was playing in one of the other fields.   I have had so much fun playing softball this year! 

    I didn’t get into bed until a little before 11 and then it took me a little to fall asleep, because I was still kind of wound up from the close ball game.  The rest of the story: The next morning I overslept. By about an hour.  And had to RUSH myself and the kids out the door. Still was late for work. I did not get fired.  End of story.


    As a re-cap:

    We have done all of the primary colors (as in, the colors in an 8-crayon pack) except one.  The ones we have done are:  Orange, Green, Yellow, Purple, Black, Blue, Red, and one extra that is not in that pack…Pink.  All that is left is brown.

    Tomorrow’s color:  Brown (probably the most uninteresting color of them all, which is why it got pushed to last.  Poor brown.)

Comments (1)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *