August 10, 2012

  • What?? You own that shirt too?

    Has this ever happened to you?

    You buy a shirt somewhere.

    Probably because you think it is cute and it is also cheap.

    You wear said shirt numerous times.

    All of a sudden, one day you spot someone else around town…wearing YOUR shirt!

    Maybe they choose a less than appealing combination to wear it with.  Maybe the shirt is a bit tight on them and doesn’t look that flattering.  Maybe when they bend over their butt crack shows and you wonder “Does that happen to me when I wear that shirt?”

    Whatever the reason, all of a sudden, you aren’t quite so crazy about that shirt anymore.  It just doesn’t seem unique or special or quite so “me” when I see other people wearing it.

    This has happened to me three times lately.

    Following is an exhibit of the shirts that are now in my personal shirt graveyard…to be worn only at home.

    Or on days when I am feeling like I just don’t care.


    Note to self: Don’t buy shirts at Wal-Mart.


    This one is from Old Navy, but I think I got it at a garage sale. This was the most recent spotting…just the other day at our local gas station, I saw a women getting milk out of the coolers…wearing MY shirt.


    From Maurice’s.  On clearance. Apparently, I was not the only person who couldn’t pass up $5.00 for a sorta-cute shirt.

    But then, sometimes I am the one who likes someone else’s shirt and wants one for myself.

    As happened this past weekend with my friend Stephanie.

    She was wearing this super cute, flattering shirt that she got at Kohl’s.

    We ended up getting some time to go to Kohl’s and I picked one up.  Even in the same color she had.

    She seemed fine with it and even encouraged me to get one.

    No, we don’t live in the same community, but I do apologize to her in advance if seeing this picture of me in “her” shirt ruins it for her!


    In the meantime…I’ve worn it twice this week! That’s how much I love it!

    That is, until I see someone in my hometown wearing it!

Comments (4)

  • You’re funny…and you are still unique, even if someone is wearing “your” shirt! So am I reading you correctly that it’s okay as long as it’s somewhere far away and not in your hometown?  We went to Saskatchewan last weekend, walked into a luggage store, and the saleslady was wearing “my” jacket from my favorite store – Christopher & Banks.  I thought it was cool, and told her so.  But her jacket was more worn/faded than mine, ha.  Along a similar vein, I have had to “get over” people using “our” name that we picked for our youngest child (and we don’t have overly- common names for our children).  But I just now realized that it doesn’t bug me when it’s someone that lives far away.  I never did want to be a copy-cat, guess that’s why I have an issue with what I perceive it to be, which it probably isn’t at all…what a ramble.

  • I love your newest find!  So cute!

  • yes, i know, sooo true!! something i think looks so nice on me turns to ashes when i see it worn unflatteringly on someone else! or vice versa – something i purchase because of thinking it looked just gorgeous on someone else makes me look fat! :) your newest top is soo pretty ~ that color green and the style too.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *