July 5, 2012

  • A Hot July 4th…

    Since we didn’t have much planned for the 4th of July (during the day) and Jeremy was working, I decided to make my own fun with the kids.

    May I just say, my kids are at an age where I love to take them places with me and I really enjoy hanging out with them.  And then are all still young enough to think that going away with Mom is fun. May this stage last long and may the days drag, cuz it is one of the first times that I can truly say I am totally loving the ages my kids are.

    Photo: Waiting For the 4th of July parade to start!! http://instagr.am/p/Mqij-1xjIs/


    We are dressed up for the 4th of July (red, white and blue, of course). Nikki’s outfit was purchased that morning at good old Wal-Mart. I had nothing to wear with my dress, so I stopped and got July 4th flip flops at Wal-Mart. All day long I regretted that decision.  They TOTALLY did not go with the outfit (way too under-dressed footwear) and they were a size too big, so I felt like I was schlupping around in snow shoes or something.  I got quite a few compliments on the dress (that does not normally happen to me, so that was fun) but let me tell you… “Those flip flops really go with your outfit” said no one EVER!!


    Nikki…waiting for the parade to start


    Kendall…


    Derrick…He’s not crazy about posing for pictures.


    The kids were disappointed that the clowns didn’t make any balloon animals for them.


    We watched the parade in the scorching heat (I had sweat in places that I barely knew I had places) and then we went over to the park where there was food and “clown tractor rides”, among other things.


    This poor lady clown and I had a conversation about how very, very hot she was.  In the temperature sense.

    Just thought I should clarify that.

    She said that if it continues to be this hot for the 4th of July, she is going to have to alter her outfit. I think I would have been cutting those sleeves off, at the very least.


    So cute!


    ***********************************

    We came home for a little while and then in the evening, we went to our friends Mike and Morgan’s house for an hour or two and then headed out to the fireworks.


    I always end up with at least one lame-ass picture of fireworks.  I don’t know why I feel like this is important to document.  We all know what fireworks look like and a photo can’t even begin to capture them anyway.


    Morgan, feel free to cut and past this picture off of my blog.  This is her son and daughter…so cute!


    More kiddos watching fireworks. 


     A picture of my beautiful friend Morgan and her son.

    Don’t the guys look so enthused?  Later, they got a bit more excited.  They both love the “boom!!” kind of fireworks.  Me, not so much.



    During the Grand Finale.  It was awesome!


    Morgan and I were talking about our favorite holidays…I am not even sure which one is my favorite (maybe Christmas?) but I know that July 4th ranks right up there. It is so much the essence of summer to me.


    And that’s all for now…I hope your 4th of July was happy and safe!

Comments (8)

  • july 4th is one of my favorite holidays too~ just so festive and energizing.glad you had a good day. love your white dress. so pretty!

  • Looks like a fun day! Your kids are beautiful. Love the outfits and oversized flip flop story! LOL! Hope all is well with you!–Christy

  • funfun! we ended up skipping the fireworks, they’re like 2 minutes away. Abbi was so crabby by then, we just didn’t feel like dealing w it Thanks for sharing your celebrations, love the dress. I feel bad for the clown in the long sleeves.

  • “This poor lady clown and I had a conversation about how very, very hot she was.  In the temperature sense.”  LOL – I found that line super funny because it was such a YOU thing to say.  Glad you had a good 4th!

  • “……sweat in places I didn’t even know I had places”  lol!  Looks like a fun happy day!  I love the way you are so crazy about your kids Audrey. =)

  • love the white dress on you audrey. and the 4th is a fav for me too. even though it’s a work day around here as well. ;) i took the kids swimming—it was HOT here too. had dinner with friends, jacob participated in the neighborhood bike parade and we watched the fireworks from there.

  • very funny picture. thanks for sharing….Bridesmaidsgifts

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *