June 29, 2012

  • A Belated Father’s Day

    Since we were driving home from camping/picking up our kids on the actual Father’s Day, and since the kids had been in Ohio with their Grandparents, I told Jeremy that we would celebrate our Father’s Day a week late.

    He seemed cool with that. 

    So…the kids and I went shopping on Tuesday morning and bought all of the necessary items to do the Father’s Day presents that I had in mind.  They were quite excited and had fun helping to shop for the candy bars, etc.

    (Side note: Both of these ideas came from Pinterest.  No credit can be given to me.   May I just mention that I love Pinterest and I kind of wonder how I survived without it.  Ha, ha.)

    We bought a T-shirt for $3.88 (good buy alert) and then we bought paints to use for the back of it.  There were several options at Wal-mart as far as what you could use to write on fabric.

    Markers, regular fabric paints, and puffy paints.  The markers seemed like the best option, but the pack that had the colors I would have wanted in it cost somewhere between $12 and $18, which I considered to be a bit much.

    We went with the puffy paints, which were $4 or $5.  I kind of regretted that later, because it was hard to do fine details with the paints and also hard to get the paint to come out evenly…it wanted to kind of glob up. Overall, though, it worked fine.


    (Presenting the shirt. Excitement is running high. I LOVE how excited the kids get to give even simple presents to someone else.)


    Jeremy is posing with the gift.  The idea of this, if you haven’t seen it before, is that Jeremy would wear this shirt and the kids would drive cars on it, etc.  (like you see in the picture on the right)  Kind of a fun back rub idea.  And since Jeremy LOVES back rubs, I figured he would enjoy this gift.


    The kids were all gathered around Jeremy for the presenting of the candy bar letter. Somehow, we always seem to have at least one shirtless kid in our Father’s Day pictures.



    (I love the looks on the kids’ faces!)



    We had so much fun buying all of these candy bars and then creating a story to go along with it.



    Bonus:  Jeremy got to try some new candy bars that he had never had before. Like the “Zero” bar. 


    His favorite of them all: The Snickers Peanut Butter one.


    I also had the kids fill out a sheet with things about their Dad.  It was pretty funny how they answered some of the questions. Especially the fact the Nikki guessed that Jeremy’s weight was 70 lbs.

    We did all of this ^^ in the morning before church and then the rest of our day was busy with a parade in town and going over to a friends house, but I think Jeremy had a good Father’s Day…all in all.

    Jeremy is such a great Dad.  I think I take it for granted a lot:  His patience with the kids…the way he includes them in what he is doing and teaches them…his understanding of boys in a way that I don’t always get…the way he works with me as a team to discipline and train them…his support of me as an authority figure in the kids’ lives (the kids will often hear him say something like “That’s no way to treat my Queen” or “You don’t talk to my Queen like that!”)…the way he teaches them about God and having a real relationship with Him (Another thing he often says is “Thank you, Jesus!” when a prayer is answered or God does something in our lives…whether small or great)…his involvement in the kids’ lives and his interest in what they are doing…his desire to understand their hearts…

    He’s not perfect, but I think our kids are mighty lucky to have him as their Dad.

Comments (5)

  • No way! We did the candy bar thing, too. It was the first time I ever wrote a letter with candy, although I’ve seen it done so many times.Father’s Day was pretty low key around here, but I didn’t feel too bad since Mother’s Day didn’t turn out to be much of an affair this year (shh! don’t tell Kendall I said that!).

  • That is so sweet! I love the car shirt idea, that’s sneakily cool. 

  • he sounds way better than perfect. kids could never relate to perfect. :) what a cool tribute to a great dad who i know is married to a great mom. fun presents too.

  • cool and creative father’s day ideas :) enjoyed the pictures!

  • Hi,Nice to see your post with these type of excellent story…am impressed on seeing your ideas and it’s been great gift for every father…Father’s day Bobblehead Gifts

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *