April 8, 2011

  • RWOTD {Truck} & Fabulous Friday Give-A-Way

    This post may be a little scattered…as my thoughts on trucks are somewhat scattered and various.

    Actually, that’s maybe my brain in general I am talking about.

    Wait a minute…

    What was my random word of the day?  

    I got side-tracked for a minute there.

    Oh, truck.
    This post may be a little scattered…as my thoughts on trucks are somewhat scattered and various.

    Actually, that’s maybe my brain in general I am talking about.

    Wait a minute…

    What was my random word of the day?  

    I got side-tracked for a minute there.

    Oh, truck.
     


    Well, first off, I have long held on to a romanticized notion about trucks and truck driving.

    My Dad was a truck driver in the 70’s.

    In fact, he was out on the truck when I was born, which is how I came to be called the “Transport City Girl.” That’s where he was when I was born. Transport City. Georgia, I think.

    Wish my Mom would have been there too.

    Because that would mean that I would have been born in Georgia and most probably lived there during my growing up years.

    Which would have been a WHOLE LOT warmer than Wisconsin.  And then we’d already live there, instead of us having this conversation every year about how we REALLY want to move to someplace warmer.

    Can you tell I’m still a little bitter about this very, very long winter we’ve had? (I wish you could hear the tone of voice that is in my head. It would make these last 5 lines SO much more interesting!)

    Dad used to tell us all of these trucking stories and I would listen with rapt attention. I was so fascinated. Life on the road.  How cool would that be?

    For a long time I thought that once I got married, my husband and I would become a husband/wife team and drive a big rig.


    Couple of problems here…

    #1 – If you know me AT ALL, you would know that I will probably never be capable of driving a “big rig.” Heck, I can barely drive a stick-shift Sunfire.  See what I mean?

    #2 – Where to leave the kids during all of our trips?

    #3 – By now, I realize that the job is probably not nearly as fun as I made it out to be in my mind.

    Needless to say, that little dream never materialized.  But I did hang on to that one for probably at least 5 years.

    Traveling is in my blood.  I guess I probably get that from my Dad.  Sometimes…I just need to hit the open highway and go somewhere…it doesn’t really matter where.

    I guess they call that “wanderlust.”

    I still have a fascination with big trucks.  When we are traveling, especially at night, and we see this chromed-out truck, all lit up with those rows of lights along the trailer and the truck, nothing else comes to my mind to say except “Wow! That’s purty.”  And Jeremy can’t help but agree.
     


    Jeremy and I used to play this game when we were traveling where Jeremy would call out the makes of all the semi trucks as we would meet them, and I would keep a ledger with columns for each make.  (Um…yeah, this was pre-kids.  Totally.)

    Mack, Kenworth, Peterbilt, Western Star, Freightliner, Volvo, International…

    I don’t remember which one usually won, but I am guessing it was either Freightliner or Kenworth.

    I always had a special spot in my heart for the Kenworth anyway, because that is what my Dad drove.


    And now, switching gears (no pun intended), but still on the subject of trucks…

    Let’s talk about the pick up truck.

    When I met Jeremy, he drove a Dodge two tone (greenish/blue and silver) pick up.
    Later, just before we got married, we bought a very sexy black Dodge.
    Then we had the red Chevy.
    Now we’ve got the green Chevy.
     


    That is our family history of pick ups. We’ve always had one.
    A guy’s got to have himself a pick up.  At least my guy does.

    But…the vehicle with which the majority of my “truck” memories are associated is the one that Jeremy drove when we met.

    Not only did we travel to North Dakota in that truck…which was when our romance really began in earnest…we also did a LOT of dating in that truck.

    I best not go into a lot of detail.  There may be small children reading this.  Or people who know me who would be happy for the gossip about my life as a young dating girl.  Or people who would be disappointed in me.

    Let’s just say that we took a lot of road trips in that truck and we also spent a lot of evenings driving (and parking) on the backroads around our area.

    If we wanted to be alone and not at his house or mine, the truck was our hide-out.  And it had wheels, so it could take us wherever we needed to go.

    Ahhh…good memories.  Young love.  Excitement.  Just driving around. No where to be and nothing we had to do.

    That seems like a really, really long time ago.

    And I guess it kind of was.  12 ½ years.  Dang, I’m gettin’ old!

    Anyway…that pretty much concludes my ramblings about trucks.

    What do some of your favorite truck memories consist of?
     
     
     
    **Once again, I will draw a random winner from the list of everyone who leaves a comment on my blog today…this Fabulous Friday!
     
    Tomorrow when I post, I will announce the winner and you will receive the book of your choice from the list below, along with a little something extra.
     
    Thanks for commenting…
     
    Book List:
     
    Inspirations for a Mother’s Soul (Mostly verses by category…New Living Translation)
    Standing on the Promises – Susan Wales (Taken by a previous winner)
    Too Much of a Good Thing – Dan Kindlon
    7 Secrets of Successful Families – Jimmy Evans
    A Hand to Guide Me – Denzel Washington
    The Yada Yada Prayer Group – Neta Jackson
    Even God Rested – Kim Thomas
    The Heart of a Woman – Maya Angelou
    Meditations on Proverbs for Couples – Les and Leslie Parrott
    Esther…A Story of Courage – Trudy J. Morgan-Cole (Taken by a previous winner)
    The Wedding – Nicholas Sparks
    Putting Family First – William Doherty and Barbara Carlson
    From Baghdad, With Love – Colonel Jay Kopelman
    The Complete Household Organizer from Good Housekeeping (Taken by a previous winner)
    Sharing His Secrets – Vickey Banks
    Forgiving the Unforgivable – David Stoop
    Dinner with a Perfect Stranger – David Gregory
    Wake up Laughing – (Upbeat Devotions for the “Unconventional” Woman) – Rachel St. John-Gilbert
    Hugs for those in Love – Ron and Lyn Rose
    A Nickel’s Worth of Hope – Dr. Andre Vandenberg
    Dancing through the Shadows – Theresa Tomlinson
    Following Christ – Joseph Stowell
    The Calling – Brother Andrew
    John’s Story (The Last Eyewitness)  Tim LaHaye and Jerry Jenkins
    What Happens When Women Pray – Evelyn Christenson
    It’s All About Him – Denise Jackson
    Story of a Soul – The Autobiography of St. Therese of Lisieux
    The Thinking Chair – Audrey Brown
    Soul Talk – Larry Crabb
    Have a New Husband by Friday – Dr. Kevin Leman (Taken by a previous winner)
    The Partner – John Grisham
    Message in a Bottle – Nicholas Sparks
    The Letter – Richard Paul Evans
    Only Love is Real – Brian Weiss
    Cream and Bread – Janet Martin and Allen Todnem
    Dear John – Nicholas Sparks
    Broken on the Back Row – Sandi Patty
    Living Faith – Jimmy Carter
    The 5 Love Needs of Men and Women – Dr. Gary and Barbara Rosberg
    Simplifying Your Life – Mac Hammond
    Your Child Wonderfully Made – Larry Burkett and Rick Osborne
    Applause of Heaven – Max Lucado
    My Utmost for His Highest – Oswald Chambers daily devotional
    Capture his Heart – Lysa Terkeurst
    Letters to Karen – Charlie Shedd
    Men, Women, and Relationships – John Gray
    Official Rules of Card Games
    The Memory Keeper’s Daughter – Kim Edwards
    Tramp for the Lord – Corrie ten Boom
    To Love and Be Loved – Sam Keen

     

Comments (23)

  • i can’t help but wonder how that “Have a new husband by Friday” book is working out for your lucky winner!
    and what day of the week ya need to start reading it.

    probably not on a Thursday!

  • hmmmm. my earliest truck memory is that my brother loved Kenworths as a kid. and my most recent one is that my husband fixes ‘em. {The Farm is actually The Farmers second job}

    i have to laugh when he points out rigs on the road! because…and i’ll admit it here to you…shhhh. don’t tell anyone. i can be mean about how fancy schmancy some of them are…and oh never mind.

    your dad memories, vague dating ummm experiences, gear shifting and ledger lists made me smile!

  • i like me a truck too :) . we had three of them and now are down to one. i had laugh at myself, jesse wants to get a car to drive since he doesnt need a truck now and it would save on gas…. i got this sick feeling and was like…. we have to have a truck . :)  

  • awwww, pick up trucks!!!!!  i had a ford pick up as my first set of wheels.  GOOOOOD memories!  You remember Jo G.?!  Well, she had a little pick up as well, and let just say, we had some great times!!!  Dating in a truck, ah??!!! 

  • so. maybe we could just say ‘there’s somethin’ women like about a pick up man’

  • @down_onthefarm - Your first comment made me LOL!

  • Truck memories…hmmm does the back of a durango with the hatch open count as a truck?  ; )

  • i have always wanted a pickup truck. at the moment with gas prices though i’ve shied away from it…but i did go bigger with my Malibu so perhaps i’m heading towards that one day. I’d love to have a ford ranger, but in the beginning my favourite was a dodge ram, i seriously had the biggest obsession with it. i would collect the magazines that they had at dealerships promoting them and go through and dream big dreams. i adore some nice souped up trucks..but can’t actually see myself pulling off a huge truck.

    i’m not sure what they are called but since we have Labatt’s here in London (a brewery) they have some new cabs and they are sooooo gorgeous. seriously, streamlined and sexy (can’t believe i’m saying it about a truck). i saw one in my rear view mirror and almost had an accident turning myself around to have a look ;) when i was at the job fair i stoped to talk to some lady at the big rig driving school and after we talked for about 45 minutes she said she could see me driving with no problem…i would also have the whole ‘I can’t shift at all’ problem…but i think that the traveling would be amazing. i’m sure though it gets hard to be away from the family.

    thanks for sharing your view of trucks with us Audrey. one of my ex’s had a truck and we spent a ton of time in it getting from point a to point be and just having a great time. it was a ranger (hence my love for a smaller truck) good memories in that truck!

  • Loved this post — brings to mind the song “there is something woman like a pick-up man” (sang with my best country twang, did you hear it?)  and my fav line “I met all my wives in traffic jams”  ha ha ha — My husband is without a truck right now and he hates it.  We have one but it barely runs and he wants to trade in the car for a small truck just to have a truck.  Maybe sometime.  I went to prom in a beat up ol truck and the best thing about trucks is being able to scooch on over as close as you can to your man.    There just isn’t anything like that.  That and riding down a country road in the back of the truck your hair flapping in the wind – sitting on a tail gate and watching the fireworks or snuggling in the back watching a movie at the drive-in theater.    Lots of good memories.

    Side Note:  I want to win!! Pick me random generator thingy!

  • Interesting how Jeremy called out the names of the trucks & you kept a ledger.  When we would go to FL with my grandparents, she would always write the names of the states that she saw on license plates.  Love road games like that!  Sometimes I think we should just leave the DVD player at home & let the kids be more creative.  Ok, so truck memories include hauling grain with Dad in the semi & driving an old black pickup truck on the farm.  I started driving that soon after I was big enough to see over the wheel.  This is my first entry for the Fab Fridays, so would love to win a book!

  • I am very proud that Jeremy now drives a chevy!  I don’t think my husband would ever not have a truck … mainly for the fact that he pulls a trailer 5 days a week, and he just is NOT a car kind of guy!

    One of my funny memories of a Truck …. When we were dating, of course it was winter (we have it for 9 or 10 months every year) M LOVES sliding around corners! After church one Sunday … we slid around the corner on the way to my folks house and slid in the ditch … It wasn’t until after we were married that he admitted it was not intentional! He completly had me believing that he did that just to see how I handle pressure. (Just to clarify … it was a nice smooth wide borrow pit & no damage was done)

  • I have little to say about trucks. Except that I have been accused of treating my car like a truck. I say it is my tool and servant, not me a servant to it. deep, right? ha!

  • Guys and trucks–it’s such a natural combination! We have a black Toyota Tundra with well over 100,000 miles on it. We bought it used, so we didn’t put all those miles on it! It’s actually more comfortable for long trips than my Saturn Vue, but for gas mileage sake, we usually take the car. That’s the downside to trucks. Anyway, I have no idea why I felt like you needed to know all that, but there it is.

    I hope I win a book this week!

  • Oh, and I totally “get” that desire to just get on the road and GO somewhere! I’ve always loved road trips, and the longer the better, in my mind.

  • @down_onthefarm - tee-hee Cindy, if you must know. It’s friday and I have no new husband…see, Audrey so kindly sent me that book ,I chose it because she read it first and look at her new man Then, it was laying on the table and got shuffled in to a pile of things, and then shuffled off somewhere, and I have no idea where, so I can’t get my new husband because my how-to book has done vanished. shucks.

    truck memories. my family has always had a plethera of trucks around being in construction and all. And actually, my sis and I’s first ride was a little blue chevy S-10 pickup. Stick. we had to take a stick truck for our drivers test and everything. So unlike you, ahem, I can drive stick with the best of them cuz I had no other choice if I want to drive a free set of wheels. A truck was what my dad had for us, so a truck we drove. it wasn’t horrible. but it wasn’t super sexy either. Currently Daryl and I own no trucks.

  • Enjoyed your Truck post!!  My Dad drove a semi truck from the time I was a little girl up until I was in my teens.  I can say I never had a desire to drive one of those big rigs!

    Now we have a pickup but I drive it more then my hubby does as I do not have as far to work and it sure likes to drink the gas!!!  So Fred drives the mini van and I drive the Crew cab 4×4  2500 series GMC truck!!  Love it!!   until I go to fill that thing up with gas then it makes me sick!!

  • We have owned a purple Ranger for about 9 years now and it has served us well. It is hanging by a thread and so we bought a full size Ford truck, big enough that we can all go away in it together, legally.;) Leon calls it my truck because I wanted it for awhile already. However, unlike you, I never had a love for semi’s and even vowed I’d never marry a truck driver. (I also vowed I’d never marry a farmer, for SURE not a hog farmer…little did I know);)

    Pick me! Pick me!

  • Oh dear, and here I make fun of those decked out, fancy looking monsters. (yeah, they are secretely annoying to me) I realize they keep America rolling, but still……I didn’t read the comments, so I hope I’m not stepping out in truck lovin’ territory.

  • Can’t say that I ever wanted to drive a big rig.  Hate the thought of having to “make a U-turn” or ending up in a town with cars on all sides.    I’ve seen so many very unhealthy truck drivers in the critical care unit (our hospital is along I-81 and we get truckers on occasion).  It scares me to actually drive on the road with them!!!  Seriously!

  • I have one question, how can a truck be sexy?! Oh well, I’m one of those practical mamas who thinks of the dangers of big rigs…when I pass them on the highway I speed up so as not to be next to them any longer than necessary – don’t want to get hit with any flying debris, ya know! I do love to travel too, and I shore hate ta make ya green with envy, but I am in Georgia RIGHT now and it is 80 degrees at 8:00 pm…wanna know more? The snow had better be gone when we get home tomorrow night! Happy weekend to you, hope you won’t have to pitch too much firewood!

  • my hubs went and got himself a part time driving job and drives a Volvo. It is white in color and now everytime my 2 year old sees a white truck, It’s “Daddy’s shruck”
    My Dad has 2 Kenworths. One is a 1962 the other is a 1965.. Antiques!  We are wanting him to retire and restore both.
    We travel long trips and see many fancy done-up rigs which just send my 3 boys and hubby oohhing and aahhing!

  • Love Rachel’s comment!!!
    I am scared driving next to big semi trucks on the expressway….I know, I’m a baby!
    Happy Weekend. =)

  • Quality stuff may be the key to invite the users to visit begin to see the blog site, that’s what this site provides.
    http://www.talkingtruck.co.uk

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *